What Does Kid Cudi Have To Do With Parenting?

As a mom, I’ve spent a good portion of my life in my car driving with the radio on –  and I listen to everything. I have classical music days when I just want to zone out, but usually, I’m flipping among the offerings of hip-hop, pop, classic rock, and alternative music on my local radio stations.

I won’t divulge my age here, but I will share with you that warming up to hip-hop was a slow process for me. I like it now, but just like when my younger sister shaved part of her long blond hair off in college during a stint as a punk rock groupie, there was a while when I pretended to appreciate my car radio’s hip-hop station and let it play if that’s what my kids wanted.

Sometimes I expressed my disappointment in the lyrics (not really PG) but my middle son assured me that hip-hop was all about the rhythm and the inflections of the artists voice – not the lyrics per se.

Kid Cudi is Coming To Town!

And so it came to pass that for my daughter’s (our youngest) 15th birthday, I offered to take her and a few friends to a concert.

“Let me know if there is a group you would like to see and I’ll try to get tickets,” I said.

My thinking was that she was getting too old for the typical birthday in the backyard party – this would seem more grown up. I’ll admit that there were a few artists coming to town that I wanted to see and I thought she might choose one of them.

But she surprised me by announcing that Kid Cudi was coming to a venue near us and that this was the artist she wanted to see. I didn’t know she loved Kid Cudi so much! I contained my surprise and agreed that I would take her and several friends. When she was at school the next day, I went straight to the computer and familiarized myself with Kid Cudi via YouTube. I even recognized some of his songs – (although some of the lyrics were questionable, I remembered my son’s words of wisdom, “it’s not about the words – it’s the music we like.”)

When the night came, I felt prepared. We stopped for dinner on the drive out and found our seats before the show started. The warm-up act was awful, but I gritted my teeth and suggested we go buy t-shirts and other swag before Kid Cudi started. We took pictures and they included me in the fun, which was priceless.

Her Favorite Song!

Kid Cudi finally took the stage and my daughter started screaming at the top of her lungs: he was opening with her favorite song! We were on our feet from beginning to end and the girls’ excitement was palpable. I have to admit that the whole night was great – I enjoyed the concert and I loved bonding with my daughter’s friends this way.

Now, my headline is a little misleading, because Kid Cudi really doesn’t have anything to do with parenting, but… if Kid Cudi is the artist your teenager is crazy about – you might just learn a little more about him! Should you take her to a concert or listen to her favorite artist? That’s a choice only you can make. All I know is: I’m glad for the experience! (And we’ll always have this silly picture!)

Kid Cudi Fans!

4 thoughts on “What Does Kid Cudi Have To Do With Parenting?

    1. Thanks! It’s great to hear from you – how are you doing? Before you know it, you’ll be going to concerts with your teens (wonder what kind of music will be popular in 15 years?)

Leave a Reply

