writing

Blogging is Experience

writingIn a lot of ways, blogging is more experience than writing. We write, yes, but more than that, we support, converse, engage and share. Recently, I was chosen for the Liebster Award by writer and blogger, Stacie Renee Brown – and the nature of the award and how it is given is testimony to the experiential side of blogging. Nominees are engaged in a conversation – we share facts about ourselves, we pass the award on to other bloggers and ask them to answer questions.  In her description of the award, Stacie explains that the Liebster Award is usually given to up-and-coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers and that “liebster” is a German word meaning “dearest” (Awww). I am honored and flattered that Stacie chose my blog for this award, especially since I enjoy reading her blog and following her pursuit of the writing craft!

To accept the award, I must follow these rules:

  1. Post 11 things about myself;
  2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set;
  3. Create 11 questions for the people I have chosen to receive the award;
  4. Choose 11 people to award, send them a link to my post, and go to their page and tell them;
  5. No tag backs.

See? A conversation – hope you enjoy!

11 Facts About Me

  1. My favorite color is purple. I know it’s not really a practical color, but ever since I can remember, I’ve said purple is my favorite. It’s almost as if the color chose me. Did your favorite color chose you?
  2. I haven’t eaten red meat for almost 20 years – hard to believe it’s been that long! What started as a way to lose weight after my first pregnancy, became a commitment – no mammals for me. It’s not really a political statement as much as a choice that makes me feel better. There is a name for this, but it’s very long – basically, I eat fish, poultry, dairy and eggs. Any of you out there?
  3. I am a cat person. I’ve had a few dogs in the past, but I have to admit that they weren’t my first choice. Give me a cat who cleans himself any day!
  4. My desk is always messy. I know it looks like I’m unorganized, but if it’s on my desk I know where to find it – isn’t that the definition of organization?
  5. My dad died at the age of 52 and that was too young! I miss him still.
  6. I gave up my Escalade for a hybrid – Yay! And I love it!
  7. I wrote some really cool things when I was a teenager – poems, stories, random thoughts. Then, when I was a little older I thought they were stupid and threw them in the trash. I so wish I could read them now.
  8. I’d have to say my favorite holiday is Christmas – but Thanksgiving is by far the most relaxing holiday!
  9. I wish I could sing. We all have something we wish we could do as well as others – I also wish I were a better cook – but being able to sing is a talent I’ve always wished for. Funny how I was blessed with a talented son who loves to sing!
  10. I love watching my kids play sports. They’ve all played so many different sports over the years, I don’t really have a favorite. But, the joy of watching them run and jump, dive and swing, win and lose, is one of the best feelings in the world!
  11. I’m not really a morning person. But I try.

11 Questions From Stacie For Me to Answer

  1. What would you change about humanity, if you could? That’s an easy one really. I would make everyone remember that we are all family. We are all interconnected and we need each other. If we remember we are one family, we will always be kind and generous, we will always make the right decisions, we will never even think about going to war.
  2. What kind of relationship do you/did you have with your parent(s) or guardian(s)? My relationship with each of my parents was different. They divorced when I was in high school and as a result, they became individuals to me. I went to my dad when I had big decisions to make. What should I major in? Should I take a new job? And, just when I was about to make some of my biggest decisions, we learned he had a terminal, inoperable brain tumor. He lived 9 more months. My mom is now 74 and beginning to experience dementia. Our relationship has always been strained but I’m letting go of a lot of anger and disappointment. She just needs me to.
  3. What is the cutest or most unpredictable thing you have ever seen a child do? (Finally a lighter question!) As the mother of three, I’m finding it difficult to land on just one cute thing!  So I’ll generalize: Any time a toddler offers something dear to an infant as a gesture of love, I just melt!
  4. How do you think the world will have changed by the year 2050? Given advances in technology, I would like to think that the world will be even smaller by 2050. As a result, by 2050, we will remember that we are all part of the same family.
  5. What is the most frustrating part of your craft? For me, it’s the time that is the most frustrating part of writing. Both the amount of time needed to write well, and the amount of time I don’t have to write well. It’s a frustration that I have become comfortable with, however, because it is my family that needs my time still. When I am older, I will have more time and I hope I still want to write then.
  6. Do you believe in love at first sight? Why or why not? Yes. My husband and I have been married for 26 years. When I met him at the age of 17, I felt I had already known him for a lifetime. As a child of divorce, I did not expect to fall in love until I was much older, and then it happened.
  7. What kind(s) of books do you like to read? I read fiction almost exclusively and I love historical fiction.
  8. Who is your idol and why? I don’t know if I have an idol. I’ll think about that.
  9. If you were a billionaire, how would you use your money? “I’d buy you a fur coat, but not a real fur coat, that’s cruel.”
  10. What do you like to do for fun? I like to hang out with my husband and kids. In the summer I kayak and read. I love movies – any movie – I’ll really watch anything! I also love to dance.
  11. Where is your favorite place and why is it your favorite? Is it weird to say “in my car?” I love when I’m in my car because I’m going somewhere to do something great. This probably comes from being a stay-at-home mom and writer – it’s fun to be going somewhere.

My Questions for the Future Leibsters

  1. What is your most cherished possession?
  2. What song(s) would you choose as the soundtrack(s) to your life?
  3. At what moment did you realize you weren’t a kid anymore?
  4. Which of Shakespeare’s plays is your favorite and why?
  5. What is your key to happiness?
  6. Horror or Science Fiction?
  7. Did you take piano lessons and do you still play? Why or why not?
  8. Favorite grilled food?
  9. What is the most unusual thing that’s ever happened to you?
  10. How do you communicate with family?
  11. What is the first thing on your bucket list? Why?

11 People I’m Awarding – Congratulations!award

As Stacie pointed out in her piece about this award, I look forward to your replies, if you choose to participate. If not, that’s fine – but I hope you forgive me for sending a fun, yet time-consuming, likeness of a chain letter. Have fun and happy blogging!

  1. Keeping It Real
  2. When the Kids Go to Bed
  3. Transitioning Mom
  4. OurLifein3D
  5. Rarest Kind of Best
  6. Nojudgementmyopinion
  7. Yourlife.BETTER.
  8. SheenaEastonwannabe
  9. Brain-Dead Mom
  10. My Three Sons
  11. Chicken Nuggets and Elmo
13 thoughts on “Blogging is Experience

  1. Hey, thanks for checking out my site. I’m impressed with this one! And I agree (as a new blogger I’m discovering this) blogging is much, much more than putting words on paper – or a computer screen.

  2. Congratulations! Blogging has been an amazing experience for me. You are right on, it is so much fun building a community and sharing experiences. Thanks for sharing at Mom’s Library! P.S. I’m not a morning person either unless I have my Chai Tea Latte 🙂

  3. Congrats on your nomination! 🙂 Because Liebster means “dearest” – it is really quite fitting for you – yours is among the most dear! Enjoy writing your post, should you choose to accept – and if you don’t – the nomination will self-destruct in 10 seconds! (not really.)

      1. I look forward to your post – and I’m tickled that you would consider me! See what you come up with, there are so many good blogs out there waiting for a little recognition!

  4. Congratulations Laura! Very fitting for your nomination although it seems ‘up and coming kinda dubious at our stages. 🙂 I never knew that’s what Liebster meant. Again very fitting for you and your blog. Thank you for your nomination of my blog. Its a bit a of a surprise, joy and appreciation that somebody likes reading about my kids. Thanks again. I am very flattered!

Leave a Reply

