Facing the Season

Facing the Holidays

Facing the Season
A day at a time

Traditionally, this is the time of year for holiday cheer and thinking about those you love.

However, I am becoming increasingly aware that not everyone feels cheer and joy at this time of year. Sometimes immense sadness and paralysis is all you can feel when you’re faced with the death of a loved one, a divorce, or other sad circumstance. Even the happy faces staring back at you on Facebook and the countless holiday cards you receive are enough to make you resent all of that “cheer.” Being sensitive to the feelings of others doesn’t mean you need to stop being cheerful, it just means you need to patient and kind and loving. An extra hug can go a long way – take a moment to give one if you can.

Personally, I am in a much better place this year. Last year at this time, I couldn’t face Christmas without having my college son at home. This year, it’s much better. I’ve already done this once and I know he’ll be home and we’ll have a nice Christmas. And that’s just it – I know he’ll be home soon. And I know I am so fortunate.

My heart goes out to the many families affected by senseless shootings and other violence this year. I wish you joy in the small moments of silence and memory – and in those things that bring you peace.

In your honor, I’m sharing some music to help you ring in the holiday season. The Carol of the Bells in two versions: all cello and all voice. Think of it as a big hug – one that I wish I could give you in person.

The Piano Guys: Carol of the Bells (for 12 cellos)

Pentatonix “Carol of the Bells”

UPDATE: Here’s one more version – all basketballs! From Kids and Keys blog:

Carol of the Bells by the NBA

2 thoughts on “Facing the Holidays

  1. Thank you for this article. This time of year is very tough to maintain the bight smile that I share with everyone. 2012 marks 6 years that my mother passed away on Christmast Eve followed by 6 years that my best friend died in a car accident on January 5th. What keeps me going, my faith in God, my children and the many memories that I have of my mother and my best friend. So I am happy and sad all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

