Versatile Blogger

Thank You

I opened my blog today to see a ‘trophy’ from WordPress. It’s my blogiversary! In the midst of everything I am trying to do, I was reminded to stop and take stock.

“It’s my blogiversary!”

I’m not publishing as much as I used to, but I enjoy the exercise when I make the time. Blogging is an important part of me now. It helped me to find my passion, find my purpose and…find myself. Hidden somewhere in there underneath the mothering and other roles I was juggling, was an individual. Blogging helped me reach that individual. It continues to be an ongoing conversation with you – one that I value and has become as comfortable as the worn jeans I’m wearing. My writing will continue to evolve as my life evolves – I hope you’ll stick around for the conversation. I’m grateful you’re here.

An award

Another part of the blogging experience I value just as much is reading the blogs of other writers. We engage in an online dialogue, exchange ideas, and prop each other up. Many awards have been created and circulated to express appreciation for this valuable exchange.

At the end of the summer, Canadian blogger Kathi Ostrom who writes My Life After Kids celebrated her blogiversary by sharing The Versatile Blogger Award with me and a few others. We’ve connected through the topic of empty-nesting  and her wit and charm dominates every article she writes. I was honored to be recognized by Kathi with this peer-driven award because it recognizes that critical element of blogging – the dialogue we share with each other.

Versatile Blogger

“When nominated for The Versatile Blogger  as a newbie, I went into full panic. This time it is just plain fun.”   -Kathi Ostrom

I’ve been fortunate to receive a few of these honors and this latest one is probably my favorite. It’s my favorite, not because of it’s meaning, but because of the laid back way in which it was given. Like Kathi, I nearly panicked when I was nominated for my first blogging award. There were many questions to answer, many blogs to recommend. This time around, I accept the award in the way it was given, with a laid back ‘thank you‘ and a nod to a few blogger friends.

Some blogger friends

Here is a list of some blogger friends I’ve been reading:

Kids & Keys – Creative Piano Teaching and Piano Parenting

Our Scattered Words – Songwriting: In their words

Here are the real guidelines for The Versatile Blogger Award, in case you’re curious:

  1. Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and a link back.
  3. Share 7 random interesting things about yourself.
  4. Nominate up to 15 bloggers for The Versatile Blogger Award, provide a link to their blogs in your post, and notify them on their blogs.
  5. Copy and paste the award somewhere on your blog.
2 thoughts on “Thank You

Leave a Reply

