Parent as band manager

What do teens want from their parents?

Do you know what your teens really want this holiday season? You guessed it: your love! Enjoy this article from Teen Talk and Merry Christmas to everyone! I’m taking some time with my family to reconnect – I hope you will too!

Teen Talk

By: Charlotte Villemoes, LMFT
ACS On-Campus Counseling Site Director at Woodside High School

Before I make a call home to a parent, I always ask the teen I have been seeing if they have any messages for mom and dad that they would like me to deliver. They always do. Most of the time the message is all about what they don’t want their parents to do, like “tell my dad to stop bugging me about homework” or “can you pleeeeease tell my mom to stop criticizing my clothes” or, the somewhat vague but really common, “just tell them to stop nagging me all the time”. When I get these responses, I often challenge them by asking what they DO want, explaining that even parents like to be thrown a bone, and that they too like to feel they know what they are doing. After a pause and some…

View original post 458 more words

Leave a Reply

